Please return your ballot before
11:00am, Tuesday 26 April 2016

Two members of the Green Party are running on the Trinity College panel in the current election for Seanad Éireann. ED DAVITT (who was an active member of the Dublin Bay South Greens before moving abroad) and WILLIAM PRIESTLEY are running as independents (party affiliation is not permitted for these elections) for two of the three available seats.

Ed DavittED DAVITT is a Brussels-based Irish emigrant, who has worked for the Irish and European Green Parties, Greenpeace, Friends of the Earth and other environmental organisations. He studied History and European Politics and has been living in Belgium for the past four years. Since leaving Ireland he has stayed engaged and active in Irish politics, recently returning to help out with the marriage equality referendum and Eamon Ryan’s election campaign. He is standing together with Barry Johnston on the NUI panel on the Emigrant Manifesto, aiming to address the disenfranchisement and other issues that those that have left Ireland recently face. He also wants to be a voice for the environment and European affairs in the upper house. You can see his full platform here.

william-priestley-portraitWILLIAM PRIESTLEY studied European Studies in Trinity College, and was elected President of the Student Union in 2002. In 2003, he was elected President of the Union of Students in Ireland where he campaigned for greater access to third level opportunities and financial supports for disadvantaged students. He currently directs youth services in one of Limerick City’s most marginalised communities. He has dedicated his career to tackling disadvantage and inequality in the Irish education system and wider society. He is focusing his campaign on educational access issues and green innovation, and you can read his full platform here.

Ballots for the election were recently dispatched to registered Trinity graduates, and voters will have until 11:00am on TUESDAY 26 APRIL 2016 to return them.

We hope you’ll lend these candidates what support you can
and, if you can’t vote yourself, that you’ll get in touch with those that can!

You can support the candidates at their Twitter, Facebook and Web Pages:

ED DAVITT: Twitter, Facebook, Twibbon, Website, Donate.
WILLIAM PRIESTLEY: Twitter, Facebook, Website, Donate.